Oven Baked Crispy White Meat Chicken Breasts with a white pepper-pistachio gravy

WIN_20160515_21_07_12_Pro (2)

Baked Crispy White Meat Chicken Breasts (Bone in-skin on) with a simple white pepper-pistachio gravy. One of my favorites, tastes like fried chicken except no deep fried oils! My family loves this meal, it is an easy prep and the oven does all the work! When my Butcher Market has Chicken Breasts on sale I load up, many times the regular grocery stores will also run specials on chicken-it is such a versatile meat/poultry and you can do so many recipes with them. If you are able to “stock up”!

I melt one half stick of unsalted butter and place the chicken in a large shallow dish and coat with the butter, add a few pinches of paprika, cumin, white pepper and let them sit 10 minutes. In another plate I add 1/4 cup Panko, 1/2 cup plain bread crumbs and coat each breasts well (I usually make 6 breasts at a time) transfer to a clean non stick baking sheet pan that is rimmed in a single row. Pop into a 400 F oven for 45 minutes (turning them after 20 minutes for even baking).

In the meantime I make the easy gravy, using a clean mason jar I add warm water (about 1/2 cup), 2 tablespoons corn starch, (creating a slurry) empty into a saucepan on medium heat, add 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 tablespoon black or white pepper stir well with a whisk as it will begin to thicken, I crumble very finely 1/4 cup pistachio nuts and slowly add into the white gravy, once combined and I reach the desired thickness I removed from heat source and cover saucepan.

Many times I make this early in the morning before the heat of the day (oven) and just re-heat at suppertime. Since it is a favorite I find this works out the very best for me. My family loves any veggies or rice with this dish. A potato salad or Cole Slaw works too. Whatever you like as side dishes corn on the cob, watermelon, green mixed salad, rice, baked potato wedges will all work well.

Its a new Favorite I hope you’ll enjoy too!

Cheryl “Cheffie Cooks” Wiser.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow that gravy sounds out of this world! The chicken sounds great too, we do eat a lot of chicken in this house. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can use any meat option KR! xoxoxoxo ccc

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yummy Cheryl, love chicken in white gravy and love the addition of pistachio’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Suzanne, pretty yum-o! Hugs to you and Mr. “Percy”. xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

